The 2019 Bobby Shafto Run

June 30, 2019





The weather on Sunday the 28thApril had brightened for our 17thBobby Shafto Run. After a coffee and very tasty homemade biscuits we left the Beamish Hall Hotel and headed South to the stunning village of Blanchland where a number of people stopped for a comfort break and a cup of coffee at the Monk Tearooms before heading off South. The route took us over some amazing hills and valleys to Daddry Shield before we hit the most spectacular road over to Teesdale. When we researched the route we thought that it was a quiet unused road but being that it was drive-it day lots of other clubs seemed to have the same idea, we met motorcycles, Austin Healey’s, Morris Minors and many more going the opposite which proved interesting on a single track road.




After lunch and a relatively straightforward run back to the Beamish Hall Hotel prizes were presented by Beverley Luke to the many and varied winners including one who had travelled nearly 300 miles for the run.


We also had a good turnout from the Triumph Club with eight cars in total as well as a variety of non MG’s who are always very welcome.  A great time was had by all and many thanks to Ray Rickaby and Bob Luke for helping produce a super new route  and to the judges. Thanks also to Bill Overall for marshalling and the friendly lady helpers, Bev Luke, Maureen Sandersfield and Judith Rickaby, we couldn’t have done it without you.




Trophies and rosettes were awarded as follows:


Best MGB or Midget  

1.  Tony Quinn’s MGB  reg HRW 464L

2.  Gary Bewick’s Midget reg EDP 560K


Best MGB GT or Hardtop

1.Jeannie Crann’s MG 1300 reg AJN 875K 

2. Maurice Scott’s MGB GT reg MNL 582P


Best Modern MG

1.Keith Passmore’s MGF reg P383 BNW

2. Duncan Reid’s MG TF  reg MG04 CAS


Best Old MG

1.Eric Robson’s  MGA Coupe reg OUT 835

2. Ian Tunnicliffe’s MG TC reg KXO 381


Best Triumph 

1.Kevan Russell’s Triumph Stag  reg EOE 978K

2. Steve & Lisa Overall’s Triumph Spitfire reg XBR 290L


Best Classic Car

1.Jerome Moss’s  Vauxhall Cavalier reg NUP 372P

2. Ian Pearson’s Classic Mini reg L202 DND


The longest distance travelled to  the event

Special awards to:

Neville Walker from Ealing -  289 miles

Gordon Russell from Nottingham – 155 miles

Ken Craghill from Sheffield  - 133 miles     



Please reload

Recent Posts

January 5, 2020

January 5, 2020

September 8, 2019

September 8, 2019

Please reload

Please reload

©2016 by The Durham MG Owners Club.